From Jatland Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Map of Faridkot district

Faridkot (Hindi: फरीदकोट, Punjabi: ਫ਼ਰੀਦਕੋਟ) is a city and district in Punjab. It was founded by Bhallan of the Barar Jats in 16th century during the reign of Mughal Emperor Akbar.[1]

It has been named after the great Sufi Saint Baba Sheikh Fariduddin Ganjshakar, whose verses are mentioned in Guru Granth Sahib the holy book of Sikh religion.[2] Previously it was called Mokalhar.[3]

List of Faridkot Rulers

Note - Dates are to be confirmed.

Tahsils in Faridkot district

Villages in Faridkot Tahsil

Ahal, Arayanwala Kalan, Arayanwala Khurd, Aulakh, Bagiana, Beguwala, Bhag Singhwala, Bhagthala Kalan, Bhagthala Khurd, Bhairon-Ki-Bhatti, Bhana, Bhilewala, Bholuwala, Bir Bholuwala, Bir Chahal, Bir Sikhanwala, Burj Masta, Buttar, Chahal, Chak Dhudi, Chak Kalyan, Chak Sahu, Chak Seman, Chak Shama, Chambeli, Chand baja, Chanian, Chet Singhwala, Chugewala, Daggo Romana, Dalewala, Dana Romana, Dawareana, Deep Singhwala, Deviwala, Dhab Sher Singhwala, Dhilwan Kalan, Dhilwan Khurd, Dhimanwali, Dhudi, Dhulkot, Dod, Faridkot (M Cl), Faridkot (Rural), Ghaniewala, Ghoniwala, Ghuduwala, Ghugiana, Ghumiara, Golewala, Gujjar, Hadialana, Hari Nau, Hariewala, Hassan Bhatti, Jalaleana, Jandwala, Janerian, Jeonwala, Jhariwala, Jhok Sarkari, Jhotiwala, Kabalwala, Kamiana, Kanianwali, Kater, Kauni, Khara, Khilchi, Kingra, Koharwala, Kot Kapura, Kot Kapura (M Cl), Kot Sukhia, Machaki Kalan, Machaki Khurd, Machaki Mal Singh, Madahar, Mallewala, Mandwala, Mani Singhwala, Maur, Mehmuana, Midu Maan, Misriwala, Moranwali, Mumaru, Nangal, Naraingarh, Nathalwala, Nathewala, Pakhi Kalan, Pakhi Khurd, Pakka, Panjgrain Kalan, Pehluwala, Phide Kalan, Phide Khurd, Pindi Balochan, Pipli, Qila Nau, Rajowala, Rattirori, Rupianwala, Sadhanwala, Sadhuwala, Sadiq, Saideke, Sandhwan, Sangatpura, Sango Romana, Sangrahur, Sher Singhwala, Sibbian, Sikhanwala, Simrewala, Sirsari, Sukhanwala, Tehna, Thara, Virewala Kalan, Virewala Khurd, Wander Jatana, Wara Daraka,


The ruling dynasty of Faridkot State claimed descent from Rawal Jaisal, who founded Jaisalmer in Rajasthan in 1156. The town was founded in the 16th century by his descendant Bhullan Singh of the Barad Jats.

In 13th century, noted Sufi saint, Baba Farid, on his way to Pak Pattan from Delhi, stopped here, and did penance for 40 days, near the fort of King ‘Makoal’, then under construction. The king was so impressed by his presence that he named the city, after Baba Farid, 'Faridkoat, instead of ‘Makoalpur’, and the place, where he stayed, is still called, ‘Tilla Baba Farid’, and ‘Baba Sheikh Farid Aagman Purb Mela’ is celebrated each year, commemorating his arrival in the city [4][5].

Princely flag of Faridkot

The ancestor of the Faridkot principality, Bhullan Singh was an ardent follower of 6th Sikh Guru Har Gobind. He helped the Guru Har Gobind ji in the battle of Mehraj. He died issueless in 1643. Kapura Singh, who was a nephew of Bhullan Singh, succeeded him. Kapura Singh founded the town of Kotkapura in 1661. Nawab Kapura was the Chaudhry of eighty-four villages. He was a Sikh but did not want to earn the ire of the Mughals and avoided helping Guru Gobind Singh Ji in fighingt with Mughals. The famous last battle of Muktsar (Khidrane Di Dhaab) now a historic town, happened after Nawab Kapura declined Guru Gobind Singh's request to use his fort to fight Mughal Army. Otherwise the last war between Mughals and Guru Gobind Singh Ji was destined to happen at Kotkapura. Guru ji moved from Kotkapura to Dhilwan Kalan from there to Talwandi Sabo via Guru ki Dhab. However, later in the battle of Muktsar in 1705, Nawab Kapura, helped Guru Gobind Singh Ji in an underhand manner. Kapura Singh was slain by Isa Khan Manj in 1708. He had three sons named Sukhia, Sema and Mukhia. Mukhia killed Isa Khan and took control of the entire area. Sema was also killed in this battle in 1710. Kapura’s elder son Shekha Singh again came into power in 1720.

Faridkot State Service Stamp 1879
Faridkot State Postal Stamp

A dispute between grandsons of Kapura (sons of Sukhia or Shekha Singh) led to the division of the state in 1763. The older brother, Sardar Jodh Singh Brar, retained control of Kotkapura, and his younger brother, Sardar Hamir Singh Brar, was given Faridkot.

The state was captured in 1803 by Ranjit Singh of Lahore, but was one of the Cis-Sutlej states that came under British influence after the 1809 Treaty of Amritsar. During the Sikh wars in 1845, Raja Pahar Singh aided the British, and was rewarded with an increase of territory. The state had an area of and its 642 square miles, and a population of 124,912 in 1901.

Boundaries of state- It was bounded on the west and northeast by the British district of Ferozepore, and on the south by the state of Nabha. The last Ruler of Faridkot was Lt. HH Farzand-i-sadaat Nishan Hazrat-i-kaisar-i-hind Raja Sir Harindar Singh Brar Bans Bahadur.

Before partition there was majority Muslim population in Faridkot. There are many mosques in Faridkot which are taken care of by Sikh villagers. There was a man named Sher Singh Gill who comes from a warrior family he was known for his brave action against the mob during 1947 riots. In a village named Jattpur there were many attacks on residents that weren't Sikhs or Hindus. Sher Singh Gill saved a man named Mohammad Ali who was running for his life from the mobs. Luckily Sher Singh was in the farms and seen Ali running and presued to stop the mob and save Mohammad from death. Mohammad Ali was really grateful and thanked Sher Singh so much. After the partition was over and killing was finished Ali had resided in Faridkot where he worked with Sher singh. After, Sher Singh death in 1978 he gave all his land, property, and car to Mohammad Ali because of his loyalty.

Faridkot has played a leading role in the politics of the state of Punjab with a number of chief ministers and even a president hailing from the area. Although the separation of Moga and Muktsar left this district considerably smaller, the area remains an important political arena.

Faridkot State

Faridkot State, with its capital at Faridkot, was a Princely state in Punjab, it was one of the Cis-Sutlej states. The state was established in 1763, ruled by a Jatt Sikh Brar dynasty and was an offspring of Kotkapura. Faridkot was occupied by Ranjit Singh of Sikh Empire in 1803 but had to be returned to the former rulers in 1807 on the behest of the British in 1809. Faridkot came under British suzerainty when ancestral lands confiscated by the ruler of Nabha were returned in 1846 after the First Sikh War of 1845/1846 as well as for services rendered to the British Raj in administering the Punjab. For the support in overcoming the Indian Mutiny of 1857, the ruler of Faridkot was accorded a 11-gun salute as per the rules of precedence in the Imperial Durbar.

Faridkot had issued postage stamps independently from 1879 to 1887 when it signed a postal convention with the British.

Further study

Notable persons

External links


  1. Encyclopaedia Britannica 2001
  2. http://pbsc.nic.in/pdf/districts/faridkot.pdf
  3. http://pbsc.nic.in/pdf/districts/faridkot.pdf
  4. Manns draw crowds at Baba Farid Mela The Tribune, 25 September 2007.
  5. Tilla Baba Farid The Tribune, 25 September 2007.

Back to Jat Forts