PDA

View Full Version : Impact of education

nehasinghaz
January 17th, 2008, 11:02 PM
I studied and thought a lot on this topic and still I am in dilemna. Does education really make a person a better human being ? Does it really civilise the people ?
After considerable deliberation I feel that education has not served its purpose fully with respect to the above mentioned aspect. It can help a person to attain a degree which leads him / her to fetch a fat remuneration. If we see the people who are educated they claim themselves as literate and civilised people but in reality most of the educated people of today's times behave immaturely and selfishly and contribute little to the society .
Our ancestors were not educated but they were better human beings than today's people. Knowledge should be utilised for the overall development of a human being's personality that eading to subsequent upliftment in the standard of living of both literate as well as illiterate people.
Only then we can say that education is playing a positive role in the development of the society

shailendra
January 17th, 2008, 11:27 PM
...sorry Neha, But I totally disagree with you on that statement! ("After considerable deliberation I feel that education has not served its purpose fully with respect to the above mentioned aspect")...

Education may not be the ONLY tool that makes us civil and better human beings; BUT it is definitely one of the MOST potent ones!!!

In my response also lies the answer to your question: Just like one cannot rely on Education as being the only tool... similarly one cannot place the blame on the doorstep of education alone, when it comes to the present ills of the society...
The fact of the matter is that were we to be all educated (at the basic minimum level) we would not be facing these very problems that have infiltrated and continue to nag our society ever since the times of our ancestors!

devdahiya
January 18th, 2008, 12:01 AM