Thread: Help Regarding an Investment Banking Internship?

Help Regarding an Investment Banking Internship?

Hello everyone. I am a new member and this is my first post here. First, please accept my thanks for letting me be a part of this community.

I am a first year MBA student at Kenan-Flagler Business School in the United States. I am really passionate about investment banking and am looking for an internship in the industry. I have four and a half years of experience as an officer in the Merchant Navy. I scored a 770/800 in GMAT and have a full scholarship at the School. I realize that the present environment is tough and it is difficult to get into IB industry. The few banks that recruited at our school, focused only on domestic students.

I would greatly appreciate if anyone could provide me some guidance as to how I should proceed further. I am more than happy to do an unpaid summer internship at an investment bank, both in the United States and back home in India. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Achikara For This Useful Post:

sukhbirhooda (January 25th, 2012)

I would suggest try something nin NY/NJ/CT tri state area, as most of the investment banking jobs are in that area. If possible use some local address in your resume as well, as many companies would prefer local candidate over people from another state, like NC.
    "No one can make you feel inferior without your consent..."

4. The Following User Says Thank You to rsdalal For This Useful Post:

sukhbirhooda (January 25th, 2012)

Abhishek,

I work in the industry and would try to help you to the extent I can. I have some questions and a couple of suggestions.

- When is the start and end time for your internship? Is it fixed or is there any flexibility on that?

- Do you have a CV ready?