Indian Order of Merit

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Indian Order of Merit

Indian Order of Merit (IOM) was a military and civilian decoration of British India. It was established in 1837, although following the Partition of India in 1947, it was decided to discontinue the award and in 1954 a separate Indian honours system was developed, to act retrospectively to 1947. For a long period of time, the IOM was the highest decoration that a native member of the British Indian Army could receive and initially it had three divisions. This was changed in 1911 when Indian servicemen became eligible for the Victoria Cross.

List of Jat Recipients

Here is partial list of Jat Recipients of Indian Order of Merit. You may add more.
  • Captain Sardar Bahadur Bhola Singh Gulia, OBI (1st Class), Indian Survey Regiment of Badli, Haryana.
  • Honorary Captain Sardar Bahadur Shankar Dass Randhawa, OBI (1st Class), 2nd Punjab Regiment.
  • Captain Sardar Bahadur Kishan Singh Grewal Of Kila Raipur, OBI (1st and 2nd Class)
  • Sardar Bahadur Risaldar Major Malook Singh Ahlawat OBI (1st Class),of Gochhi Haryana- Cavalry (Awal Rissala).

External links

See also


Back to Lists of Jatland