Edicts of Ashoka

From Jatland Wiki
(Redirected from List of Edicts of Ashoka)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Here is the List of Edicts of Ashoka
Edicts Of Ashoka

The following is an overview of Edicts of Ashoka,[1] and where they are located. The translating of these pillars was a turning point in history. They changed beliefs and understanding. It turned assumptions into facts.

Pillar Edicts (set of 7)

  • Delhi-Meerut, Delhi ridge, Delhi (Pillar Edicts I, II, III, IV, V, VI; moved from Meerut to Delhi by Feroz Shah)

Minor Pillar Inscriptions

  • Lumbini (Rummindei), Rupandehi district, Nepal (the upper part broke off when struck by lightning; the original horse capital mentioned by Xuanzang is missing)

Major Rock Edicts (set of 14)

  • Kandahar Greek Inscription (portions of Rock Edicts 12 and 13in Greek) and Kandahar Bilingual Rock Inscription (bilingual Greek-Aramaic), in Kandahar, Afghanistan.

Ashoka's Minor Rock Edicts


  1. Keay, John (2000). India, a History. New York, United States: Harper Collins Publishers. ISBN 0-00-638784-5.

Back to Lists of Jatland