Shaurya Chakra

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shaurya Chakra

Shaurya Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice while not engaged in direct action with the enemy. It may be awarded to civilians as well as military personnel, sometimes posthumously. It is the peacetime equivalent of the Vir Chakra. It is generally awarded for Counter-Insurgency operations and actions against the enemy during peace-time. It is third in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards and comes after the Ashoka Chakra and the Kirti Chakra. It precedes the Sena Medal. Before 1967, the award was known as the Ashoka Chakra, Class III.

List of Jat Recipients

Here is partial list of Jat Recipient of Shaurya Chakra.

External links

See also


Back to Lists of Jatland