Victoria Cross

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Victoria Cross

Victoria Cross (VC) is the highest military decoration which is, or has been, awarded for valour "in the face of the enemy" to members of the armed forces of various Commonwealth countries, and previous British Empire territories. It takes precedence over all other orders, decorations and medals. It may be awarded to a person of any rank in any service and civilians under military command. It is usually presented to the recipient, or their next of kin, by the British monarch during an investiture held at Buckingham Palace, or by the Governor-General for awards made by other Commonwealth countries. The VC was introduced on 29 January 1856 by Queen Victoria to reward acts of valour during the Crimean War.

There were total 1346 persons to get Victoria Cross in period from 1856 to 1947, out of these 40 were Indians which included 10 Jats.

List of Jat Recipients

Here is partial list of Jat Recipients of Victoria Cross . You may add more.
  • Risaldar Badlu Singh - Indian recipient of the Victoria Cross, the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry on 23 September 1918 in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces.
  • Subedar Richhapal Ram Lamba - Victoria Cross award, which is a record of bravery unparallel in Indian Army,for his brave deeds on 7 February 1941.
  • CHM Chhailu Ram Victoria Cross awarded because he displayed exceptional courage on 19 and 20 Apr. 1943 in Greece.
  • Ramswarup Singh Mahla - Awarded with Victoria Cross during second World War.

External links

See also


Back to Lists of Jatland