From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chivilaka ancestry as per Bhagavata Purana

Chivilaka (चिविलक) was ancient Chandravanshi Jat King of Mahabharata period in the genealogy of Krishna in fourth generation.

Jat Gotras from Chivilaka


In Rajatarangini

Rajatarangini[2] mentions Shrichchhavillaka as an ascetic, which tells that No mention is made of fifty-two kings in the list of Kings of Kashmir on account of their irreligion. Four of these, Gonanda, &c, are named by Nilamuni ; Padmamihira following Heliraja gives an account of eight kings, descendants of Ashoka from Lava ; and Shrichchhavillaka speaks of five only. He writes, " from Ashoka to Abhimanyu five kings have been named out of fifty-two."

This description from Rajatarangini shows that the kings omitted were followers of Buddhism. The ascetic Shrichchhavillaka, we believe, must also be a Buddhist. Following rulers of sandhi: Shrichchhavillaka = Shri + Chhavillaka. Here Chhavillaka should be of Chavil/Chavel clan found in Jats.

In Bhagavata Purana

'A study of the Bhagavata Purana; or, Esoteric Hinduism' by Purnendu Narayana Sinha, pp 226-227 mentions that.... These (10) ten kings of the Sunga dynasty shall reign for 112 years. Vasudeva, the minister of Devabhuti, shall kill his master and become himself the king.


These four kings shall be called Kanvas. They shall reign for 345 years. Susarman shall be killed by his servant Balin, a King of the Andhra clan, who shall himself usurp the throne. Balin shall be succeeded by his brother Krishna.

KrishnaSrisantakarnaPournamasaLambodaraChivilakaMeghasvatiAtamanaAnishta KarmanHaleyaTalakaPurishabhiruSunandanaChakora → 8 Bahuka or Bahus ending in SivasvatiGomatiPurimatMedasiraSivaskandaYajnasri → → VijayaChandravijnaSalomadhi

These thirty kings of the Andhra dynasty shall rule the earth for 456 years. Seven Abhiras, kings of Avabhriti, ten Gardabhins (men of Gardabha) and sixteen Kankas shall then be the rulers. They shall be followed by 8 Yavanas, 14 Turushkas and ten Surundas. These 65 kings shall reign for one thousand and ninety nine years. Eleven Moulas shall then be the kings for 300 years.

Bhuta-Nanda, Bangiri, Sisunandi and Yaso-Nandi shall then become kings. Their sons, all known as Bahlikas, shall succeed them. Then Pushpamitra shall be the king, then his son Durmitra. Seven Andhras, seven Kosalas, Vidurapatis and Nishadhas shall then become kings, at one and the same time, over the lands of these names. They shall be the descendants of the Bahlikas.

Visvasphurji, otherwise called Puranjaya, shall be the king of the Magadhas. He shall make havoc of the caste system. His chief town shall be Padmavati (Modern Patna) but his kingdom shall extend from Hardwar to Prayag.

Reference - A study of the Bhagavata Purana; or, Esoteric Hinduism by Purnendu Narayana Sinha, pp 226-227


  1. Dr Mahendra Singh Arya, Dharmpal Singh Dudee, Kishan Singh Faujdar & Vijendra Singh Narwar: Ādhunik Jat Itihas (The modern history of Jats), Agra 1998 p.243
  2. Book I (p.2)

Back to The Ancient Jats