From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Nadia (Hindi: नदिया, Bengali: নদীয়া) is a district of West Bengal, in eastern India. Its head quarter is Krishnanagar.


  • Kuliy कुलिय (जिला नदिया, बंगाल) (AS, p.210)
  • Nadia नदिया = Navadvipa नवद्वीप (AS, p.478)
  • Navadvipa (नवद्वीप), जिला नदिया, बंगाल, (AS, p.482)
  • Mayapura मायापुर (AS, p.736)


It borders Bangladesh to the east, North 24 Parganas and Hooghly districts to the south, Bardhaman to the west, and Murshidabad to the north.


Nabadwip, a town in Nadia district, is often referred to as “Oxford of Bengal”.[1] Chaitanya Mahaprabhu (b.1486–d.1534) was born in Nabadwip. One of the Indian schools of logic (tarkashastra) called Navya Nyaya system was developed in Nabadwip, which produced great logicians in the 15th century. Nabadwip was an important seat of political power in Bengal under Ballal Sen and later Lakshman Sen, kings of the Sena Empire, who ruled from 1159 to 1206.[2] In 1202, Nabadwip was captured by Bakhtiyar Khilji. This victory paved the way for Muslim rule in Bengal.[3] Nabadwip and some other places in Nadia were centres of learning and intellectual prowess. . It was the place where Lord Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, a major Hindu saint, was born and lived. The religious atmosphere of Nabadwip is a combination of Vaishnava, Shakta, Buddhist, Shaiva. The main festival of Nabadwip is "Rash Utsab" (Rasa lila). It is also known as "Pat Purnima" or "Rash Kali Puja" or "Shakta Rash". The varieties of Baishnaba, Shakta, Saiba Pratima (Idols) attracts every one.


Kuliy कुलिय (जिला नदिया, बंगाल) (AS, p.210) - नवद्वीप या नदिया-ग्राम का चैतन्य महाप्रभु के समय-15वीं शती-में प्रचलित नाम. (दे. नवद्वीप) [4]


विजयेन्द्र कुमार माथुर[5] ने लेख किया है ...नवद्वीप (AS, p.482) , जिला नदिया, बंगाल, (p.482): चैतन्य महाप्रभु की जन्म स्थान तथा संस्कृत-विद्या और न्यायशास्त्र का प्राचीन केंद्र था. पाणिनि,6,2,89 में शायद नवद्वीप का नवनगर नाम से उल्लेख है. आजकल जो नगर नवद्वीप के नाम से प्रसिद्ध है, वह चैतन्य महाप्रभु के समय में 'कुलिया' नामक ग्राम था। प्राचीन नवद्वीप कुलिया के सामने गंगा के उस पार पूर्वी तट पर स्थित था। इसे आजकल 'वामनपुकुर' कहा जाता है। कहते हैं कि प्राचीन काल में नवद्वीप की परिधि 16 कोस की थी और उसमें निम्न द्वीप सम्मिलित थे- 1. अंत:द्वीप, 2. सीमंत द्वीप, 3. गोद्रुम द्वीप, 4. मध्य द्वीप, 5. कोल द्वीप, 6. ऋतु द्वीप, 7. जह्नुद्वीप, 8. मोदद्रुम द्वीप, 9. रुद्र द्वीप

उपर्युक्त नौ द्वीपों के सम्मिलित होने के कारण ही इसे 'नवद्वीप' कहा जाता था। मायापुर नामक नवद्वीप के जिस भाग में चैतन्य का जन्म हुआ था, वह मध्य द्वीप के अंतर्गत था। यहीं चैतन्य के पिता जगन्नाथ मिश्र का निवास स्थान था। यह स्थान कालान्तर में गंगा के गर्भ में विलीन हो गया था। नवद्वीप को अब नदिया कहा जाता है।


Mayapura मायापुर (AS, p.736) = नदिया. यह श्री चैतन्यदेव की जन्मभूमि है. इसका वास्तविक नाम नवद्वीप था. [6]

Important towns

  • Krishnanagar is the district headquarters of Nadia. It is located on the bank of Jalangi River. Krishnanagar is named after Raja Krishnachandra Roy (1728–1782).
  • Nabadwip was the capital of Bengal under Ballal Sen and later Lakshman Sen, the famous rulers of the Sena Empire, who ruled from 1159 to 1206.[3]
  • Kalyani is another important city and only smart city of this district. It was identified (and named) by Bidhan Chandra Roy to act as an alternative to the city of Kolkata, from which it is about 50 km away. Kalyani also known of education hub & medical hub in this district.
  • Ranaghat, situated 74 kilometres north of Kolkata on the bank of Churni River, is famous for its railway communication.
  • Santipur is a very popular city in Nadia district. This small town has been declared a city recently. The fort area of this city, also known as Daak-Gharh (calling or gathering room) is thought to have been built by Raja Krishnachandra of Nadia.
  • Chakdaha is also an important town of this district.
  • Birnagar is also an important town and oldest municipality of this district. Kabi Nabin Chandra Sen, Kabi Rajshekhar Basu and Bhakti Vinod Thakur are famous person of Birnagar area.
  • Badkulla is also an important city of this district situated at a distance of 10 kilometres from district headquarters Krishnnaagar.
  • Bethuadahari is an important town of this district.This place is very much famous for Bethuadahari Wildlife Sanctuary.
  • Tehatta is another important subdivisional town. It is the newest subdivision in the district of Nadia.
  • Shimurali is also an important city of Nadia district. It has renowned for its cleanness and simplicity,and it has 150 year old temple.

External links


  1. Cotton, H.E.A., Calcutta Old and New, 1909/1980, p1, General Printers and Publishers Pvt. Ltd.
  2. Official district website
  3. ourist Department
  4. Aitihasik Sthanavali by Vijayendra Kumar Mathur, p.210
  5. Aitihasik Sthanavali by Vijayendra Kumar Mathur, p.482
  6. Aitihasik Sthanavali by Vijayendra Kumar Mathur, p.736

Back to West Bengal