From Jatland Wiki
(Redirected from Uttaranchal)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Map of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand (उत्तराखण्ड) is a state located in the northern part of India. Known for its natural beauty, it was carved out of Himalayan and adjoining districts of Uttar Pradesh on 9 November 2000, becoming the 27th state of the Republic of India.[1] It borders China Tibet on the north, Nepal on the east and the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh to the south, Haryana to the west and Himachal Pradesh to the north west.

The region is traditionally referred to as Uttarakhanda in Hindu scriptures and old literature, a term which derives from Sanskrit uttara (उत्तर) meaning north, and khaṇḍa (खण्ड) meaning country or part of a country. It has an area of 53,566 km².

In January 2007, the name of the state was officially changed from Uttaranchal, its interim name, to Uttarakhand. The provisional capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun which is also a rail-head and the largest city in the region. The small hamlet of Gairsen has been mooted as the future capital owing to its geographic centrality but controversies and lack of resources have led Dehradun to remain provisional capital. The High Court of the state is in Nainital.

Uttarakhand is also well known as the birthplace of the Chipko movement, and a myriad other social movements including the mass agitation in the 1990 that led to its formation.

List of Jat gotras

Jats in Uttarakhand

Districts in Uttarakhand

There are 13 Districts in Uttarakhand which are grouped into two divisions. Kumaon Division and Garhwal Division

The Kumaon Division includes six districts.

The Garhwal Division includes seven districts.

Notable persons

External Links


Back to Places