From Jatland Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Jammu district map

Jammu (जम्मू, Urdu: جموں‎ , Punjabi: ਜੰਮੂ), also known informally as Duggardesh, is one of the three administrative divisions within Jammu and Kashmir. The region is a part of the state of Jammu & Kashmir.


It consists of the districts of Doda, Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Rajouri, Ramban, Reasi, Samba, Kishtwar & Poonch. Most of the land is hilly or mountainous, including the Pir Panjal range which separates it from the Kashmir Valley and part of the Great Himalayas in the eastern districts of Doda and Kishtwar.


The principal river is the Chenab.


Jammu is winter capital of the State and famous pilgrimage centre all over the world for Vaishno Devi Temple.


As of 2012, the Jammu Division consists of ten districts:

Name of District Headquarters Area (km²) Population
2001 Census
2011 Census
Kathua District Kathua 2,651 550,084 615,711
Jammu District Jammu 3,097 1,343,756 1,526,406
Samba District Samba 245,016 318,611
Udhampur District Udhampur 4,550 475,068 555,357
Reasi District Reasi 268,441 314,714
Rajouri District Rajouri 2,630 483,284 619,266
Poonch District Poonch 1,674 372,613 476,820
Doda District Doda 11,691 320,256 409,576
Ramban District Ramban 180,830 283,313
Kishtwar District Kishtwar 190,843 231,037

Jammu district

Jammu district comprises 4 tehsils -

This district consists of 8 blocks: Akhnoor, Bhalwal, Bishnah, Khour, Marh, Ranbirsinghpora, Satwari and Dansal.

Notable persons

  • Ch. Kamal Singh - President, Jat Kalyan Sabha Jammu and Kashmir, Mob: 9419182937, 0191-2555490, Address: Chauhan's, A-42, Bharat Nagar, Talab Tillo, Jammu, - 180002, Email: jattkalyansabha@gmail.com. General Secretary, Sir Chhotu Ram Jat Charitable Trust, Sir Chhotu Ram Jat Bhawan, 17 Mile Stone, NH-1 A, Thandi Kui, Kamala Ganv, Vijpur, Jammu

External links


Back to Ancient Villages in Jammu and Kashmir