Uttar Pradesh

From Jatland Wiki
(Redirected from U.P.)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Regional Map of Uttar Pradesh
Jat distribution Map of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh (Hindi: उत्तर प्रदेश, Urdu: اتر پردیش) also popularly known by its abbreviation U.P., means the 'northern province'. It is the most populous and fifth largest state in the Union of India.

Regions in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh comprises several distinct regions: -

  • The Doab region which runs along UP’s western border from north to south; this region is further divided into three zones:
    • The Upper Doab in the north-west,
    • The Middle Doab in the west,including the Braj-bhumi in the trans-Yamuna area,
    • The Lower Doab in the south-centre,
  • The Rohilkhand region in the north;
  • The Awadh(or Oudh), the historic country of Kosalas in the centre;
  • The northern parts of Bundelkhand in the south;
  • The northern parts of Bagelkhand in the south-east; and
  • The southestern part of the Bhojpur country in the east, commonly called Purvanchal ("Eastern Province").

Division wise listing of districts

Division Headquarters Districts
Agra division Agra
Aligarh division Aligarh
Prayagraj division Prayagraj
Azamgarh division Azamgarh
Bareilly division Bareilly
Basti division Basti
Chitrakoot division Chitrakoot
Devipatan division Gonda
Ayodhya division Ayodhya
Gorakhpur division Gorakhpur
Jhansi division Jhansi
Kanpur division Kanpur
Lucknow division Lucknow
Meerut division Meerut
Mirzapur division Mirzapur
Moradabad division Moradabad
Saharanpur division Saharanpur
Varanasi division Varanasi

Region wise Districts wise Jat Population in Uttar Pradesh (1931)

Name of Region District Tahsils in district Percentage of Jats in district out of total Jat population in state (1931)
Upper Doab 1.Muzaffarnagar Budhana, Jansath, , Muzaffarnagar, 09.94 %
2 Shamli Kairana,Shamli
3.Meerut Mawana, Meerut, Sardhana 26.26 %
4.Baghpat Baghpat, Baraut, Khekada
5.Ghaziabad Ghaziabad, Modinagar
7Hapur,- Garhmukteshwar,Hapur,
6.Bulandshahar Anupshahr, Bulandshahr, Debai, Khurja, Shikarpur, Siana, Sikandrabad 10.84 %
67.Saharanpur Behat, Deoband, Nakur, Saharanpur 01.43 %
Middle Doab 10.Aligarh Atrauli, Gabhana, Iglas, Khair, Koil 12.22 %
14.Mathura Chhata, Mat, Mathura 16.36 %
15.Hathras Hathras, Sadabad, Sasni, Sikandra Rao
16.Etah Aliganj, Etah, Jalesar, Kasganj, Patiyali 00.03 %
19.Agra Agra, Bah, Etmadpur, Fatehabad, Kheragarh, Kiraoli 07.03 %
20.Firozabad Firozabad, Jasrana, Shikohabad, Tundla
Rohil Khand 2.Bijnor Bijnor, Chandpur, Dhampur, Nagina, Najibabad 06.95 %
7.Jyotiba Phule Nagar Amroha, Dhanaura, Hasanpur
8.Moradabad Bilari, , Moradabad, , Thakurdwara 03.97 %
15Sambhal Chandausi,Sambhal,Gunnaur
9.Rampur Bilaspur, Milak, Rampur, Shahabad, Suar
11.Budaun Bilsi, Bisauli, Budaun, Dataganj, Gunnaur, Sahaswan 00.53 %
12.Bareilly Aonla, Baheri, Bareilly, Faridpur, Meerganj, Nawabganj 00.80 %
13.Pilibhit Bisalpur, Pilibhit, Puranpur 00.08 %
17.Shahjahanpur 00.02 %
Lower Doab 21.Mainpuri
22.Farrukhabad 00.02 %
26.Etawah 00.10 %
29.Kanpur Dehat 00.08 %
30.Kanpur Nagar
40. Fatehpur 00.01 %
53.Allahabad 00.04 %

Awadh 18.Lakhimpur Kheri
41.Rae Bareli
50.Ambedkar Nagar
Bundelkhand 37.Jalaun 00.01 %
38.Jhansi 00.14 %
39.Hamirpur --
Baghelkhand 47.Chitrakoot
Purvanchal 44.Basti 00.03 %
51.Sant Kabir Nagar
55.Azamgarh --
56.Gorakhpur 00.01 %
59.Sant Ravidas Nagar Bhadohi
60.Mirzapur 00.01 %
61.Varanasi 00.05 %
62.Ghazipur 00.01 %
68.Gautam Buddha Nagar
70.Ballia 00.01 %

Thus the 96.34 % population of Hindu Jats was in above 11 districts. The rest 24 districts like Dehradun, Farrukhabad, Itawa, Kanpur, Fatehpur, Allahabad, Varanasi, Mirjapur, Gazipur, Balia, Gorakhpur, Basti, Azamgarh, Mainpuri, Etah, Shahjahanpur,Pilibhit, Jhansi, Jalon, Hamirpur, Banda, Nainital, Almoda, Garhwal had a combines Hindu Jat population of 27847 (3.66 %).

In addition to this there are about 2.63 % Muslim Jats.


Uttar Pradesh covers a large part of the highly fertile and densely populated upper Gangetic plain. It shares an international border with Nepal and is bounded by the Indian states of Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Bihar. The administrative and legislative capital of Uttar Pradesh is Lucknow; its high court is based at Allahabad. Other notable cities in Uttar Pradesh include NOIDA, Agra, Mathura, Aligarh, Varanasi (Banaras), Gorakhpur, Kanpur and Meerut.

Uttar Pradesh has an important place in the history of Hinduism, as well as the history of ancient India. Control over the region was vital to the power and stability of all of India's empires and kingdoms - of Hindus, Muslims and Europeans.

The ancient Hindu kingdom of Kosala in Ayodhya, where Lord Rama of the Ramayana believed to have reigned was located here and Lord Krishna, revered as the eighth Avatara of Vishnu, is believed to have been born in the city of Mathura.

The Mahabharat war and the aftermath took part in the area between Uttar Pradesh and Delhi. It was ruled under King Yudhishtira after the Mahabharat.

After that, this area was sometimes divided between petty kingdoms or formed important parts of larger empires from the east or the west, including the Mauryan, Guptas and Kushan empires.

The Kannauj Empire originated from the heart of the Ganga Yamuna Doab and covered areas from Afghanistan to Kashmir, Bengal and the Vindhyas. This empire was at its zenith during the reign of Harshavardhana.

Jats in Uttar Pradesh

Jat Distribution in UP.

The exact Jat population in Uttar Pradesh at present is not available as there is no caste wise census after 1931 in India. We can take 1931 Jat population as an indication of the proportion of it to the other castes. It can also be extrapolated on the ration of 2001 census and 1931 census, which can give approximate Jat population.

The total population of India in 1931 was 27.09 crore and in 2001 was 102.7 crore. Thus there is an increase of 3.681 times. On this basis the present Jat population in Uttar Pradesh must be 3.681 times 759830 = 2796900. Thus we can say population of Hindu Jats in Uttar Pradesh is 2796900.

Jat population 1931

Thakur Deshraj has given an analysis of Jat population in Uttar Pradesh as on 1931. Uttar Pradesh was called United Province prior to independence. As per 1931 census the population of Jats in Uttar Pradesh was as under:

Hindu Jats…………….759830

Muslim Jats…………....20000

The population of Jats in then 11 districts of the state where they were in sizable proportion was as under:

Meerut ...........199533 (26.26 %)

Mathura..........124277 (16.36 %)

Aligarh ............92886 (12.22 %)

Bulandshahr ......82385 (10.84 %)

Muzaffarnagar..75499 (09.97 %)

Agra ...............53446 (07.03 %)

Bijnore ...........52786 (06.95 %)

Moradabad ......30184 (03.97 %)

Saharanpur .....10902 (01.43 %)

Bareilly ...............6074 (00.80 %)

Badayun ...........4011 (00.53 %)

Thus the 96.34 % population of Hindu Jats was in above 11 districts. The rest 24 districts like Dehradun, Farrukhabad, Itawa, Kanpur, Fatehpur, Allahabad, Varanasi, Mirjapur, Gazipur, Balia, Gorakhpur, Basti, Azamgarh, Mainpuri, Etah, Shahjahanpur,Pilibhit, Jhansi, Jalon, Hamirpur, Banda, Nainital, Almoda, Garhwal had a combines Hindu Jat population of 27847 (3.66 %).

Martyrs of Kargil war from Uttar Pradesh

see the list of Martyrs of Kargil war from Uttar Pradesh


Back to Places